Hatfield end perfect run for visitors

On line: Hatfield's Kirk Bennett was in the wickets.   Picture: Steve Taylor
On line: Hatfield's Kirk Bennett was in the wickets. Picture: Steve Taylor
Have your say

ALL-rounder Chris Stothard was Hatfield Town’s match-winner as they stepped up their Pontefract and District League Division Two promotion bid.

Third-placed Hatfield inflicted Sprotbrough’s first away defeat this season to close the gap on pacesetters South Kirkby and Stainborough who both lost.

Stothard (90no) guided Hatfield to a two-wicket win after he had claimed 3-41 to limit Sprotbrough to 190-8.

Kirk Bennett (3-46) was Hatfield’s other main wicket-taker. Tim Braithwaite (4-31) and Andrew Fairclough (37) were Sprotbrough’s best performers.

Dean Smith’s unbeaten 65 steered Askern to a five-wicket success against Wombwell Main who were toppled for 138 by Gareth Williams (4-33).

A century by Phil Decent was in vain for Barnby Dun who lost by six wickets at Glasshoughton.

Stuart Adamson and Gareth Portman hit half centuries as the Castleford team overhauled Barnby’s 218, despite Mark Nurse’s 3-33.

Fishlake are level on points with Hooton Pagnell at the foot of Division One after their dreadful start to the season continued at Nostell.

Fishlake’s batting again let them down as they were routed for 94 by Ken Atkinson (5-40).

Thurnscoe Institute lost top spot in Division Three with a two wicket-defeat at lowly West Bretton. The defeat was tough on Aidan Morris (84), Michael Harvey (34) and Stephen Hall (4-22).

Sykehouse and Thorne Colliery maintained their promotion challenges with victories at Brodsworth Main and Sandal respectively. Michael Gallagher (68) and Richard Copley (41) led Sykehouse to 208-9 and Copley then snapped up 3-28 as Brodsworth were bowled out for 149. Will Drury (49) was Brodsworth’s top scorer.

Thorne piled up Saturday’s highest total in Division Three of 236-9 thanks to Carl Walton (92), Mizhar Mir (32), Gareth Stent (28) and Chris Head (23). Mir bagged 3-37 as Sandal were toppled for 190.

Bullcroft Main improved their chances of avoiding relegation from Division Four by climbing out of the bottom two with a 40-run victory at Fishlake A. Stephen Denton hit 77 and Michael Hibbett 38 as Bullcroft posted 214-8.

Steve Yeaman’s 35 was in vain for bottom side Fishlake who managed only 174-7 in reply.

Bullcroft moved above Bentley Colliery who lost by 47 runs to leaders Streethouse A.

Peglers maintained up their Division Five promotion bid by crushing Whitley Bridge A who were routed for 37, replying to 211-8.

Sprotbrough A lost by 91 runs to leaders Ferrybridge Power Station and Barnby Dun A slipped to a 16-run defeat against Old Sharlston A.

Division Six promotion-chasers Thurnscoe A trounced West Bretton A by 271 runs but Hatfield A were beaten by 60 runs at Hundhill Hall A.