Final showdown

Have your say

ELSECAR, the leaders of the South Yorkshire Senior League Premier Division, will have home advantage in the final of the Yorkshire Council Championship Play-Offs on Sunday.

The four time winners will entertain Methley, who comfortably defeated Wrenthorpe in the semi-finals last weekend, at Armroyd Lane. It was the Central Yorkshire League outfit Methley who saw off Whitley Hall in the quarter finals by four wickets.

Elsecar last won the title in 2003 and been runners-up five times.

Elsecar booked their place in the prestigious final, which gets underway at 12pm, after beating Wickersley in a low-scoring last four tie by six wickets. Wickersley were dismissed cheaply for 127 and, in reply, Adrian Meadows (33), Ainsley Swallow (32) ensured Elsecar made it through.

Michael Dugher, the MP for Barnsley East, is the guest of honour for the event and will hand out the awards at the presentation ceremony.

It capped off a successful weekend for Elsecar, who went top of the pile in the Premier Division following a routine six-wicket triumph over Houghton Main on Saturday. Their main championship rivals, Whitley Hall and Treeton, slumped to 21 run and 159 run defeats at Whiston PC and Wickersley OV respectively.

In the Yorkshire Council Division One Play-off Final, Darfield claimed a resounding 149-run victory over Kexborough, who were bowled out for 80.