Elsecar land their 18th title

Have your say

Elsecar clinched their 18th South Yorkshire League title on the last day of the season.

It added to a magnificent record for the club who have also been five times Yorkshire Council champions and 10 times Whitworth Cup winners.

They saw off hosts Wath for 131,Luke Townsend grabbing 5-36 and Iftikhar Afzal 3-40, and responded with 132-5, after recovering from a modest start to the season,and profiting from the deduction of points from long-time leaders Wickersley by the League’s Disciplinary Committee.

Whitley Hall were hoping to hear of a defeat for Elsecar, to give them a chance of their second Premier Division success, and rattled up 266-8, Sam Chatterton 97 and Jaco Castle 86, to beat Norton Oakes (193) in which Daniel Owen hit 67 and Jim Tasker claimed 6-66.

Hallam whipped out Aston Hall for 143 and battled to 144-9, Nick Dymock cracking 56, and Whiston reached 201-9, Andy Tomlinson 48, to beat Houghton Main, with Scott Jones claiming 7-34.

Wickersley were nine-wicket winners after seeing off Coal Aston for 96, the main men Haidar Jahngir, 5-21, and Paul Lund, 45no. Upper Haugh’s game with Treeton was abandoned.