Away-day ton joy for Sprotbrough ace Stu

37 all out: Brodsworth captain David Rhodes bats against Yorkshire Main at Woodlands. Picture: SteveTaylor
37 all out: Brodsworth captain David Rhodes bats against Yorkshire Main at Woodlands. Picture: SteveTaylor
Have your say

SPROTBROUGH maintained an impressive away record in a high-scoring Pontefract and District League Division Two game at Glasshoughton.

Sprotbrough, still without a home win this season, achieved their fourth successive away victory thanks to an unbeaten century by Stuart Laidlaw and an 82 from Adam Kaye.

They overhauled Glasshoughton’s 259-7 that featured an undefeated 111 by Gareth Portman.

Sprotbrough’s fellow promotion contenders Hatfield Town, Barnby Dun and Askern all lost.

Barnby’s 85-run defeat at leaders South Kirkby was hard on Adam Wilkinson (4-45) and Scott Walker (56).

Matt Wilson (50), Ashley Towler (36) and Andrew O’Grady (30) guided Askern to 175-9 at Monk Bretton but it was not enough to deny the hosts a seven-wicket win.

Andy Cutts (60), Jon Holmes (38), Richard Clark (36no) and John Severn (3-39) were Hatfield’s best performers in a six-wicket defeat against Wombwell Main.

Fishlake’s poor start in Division One continued with their sixth defeat in seven games at champions Ackworth.

Mark Davis (65), Charlie Metcalfe (59) and Kevin Pearson (50) steered Fishlake to 231-5 which Ackworth overhauled with the last pair at the wicket.

An unbeaten 95 by Aidan Morris guided Division Three leaders Thurnscoe Institute to an eight wicket success at Normanton. Sykehouse climbed to third place with a 96-run win against Sandal.

Peter Sanders (4-49) toppled Sandal for 123 after Richard Copley (60) had led Sykehouse’s 219-7.

Chris Broughton’s excellent 91 was in vain for Thorne Colliery whose slide continued with their third straight league defeat when they lost by six wickets at Frickley Colliery A.

Brodsworth Main’s recent revival ended at Yorkshire Main.

Will Drury (11) was the only Brodsworth batsman who reached double figures as they were skittled for 37.

Struggling Division Four teams Fishlake A, Bullcroft Main and Bentley Colliery were all beaten.

Bentley managed only 85 against Ryhill and bottom team Fishlake were routed for 109 by Hundhill Hall.

Michael Hibbert (52) top scored for Bullcroft who were bowled out for 141 in a five-wicket defeat at Upper Haugh A.

Barnby Dun A and Peglers maintained their Division Five promotion challenges.

Barnby wrecked leaders Ferrybridge Power Station’s unbeaten league record with an 111-run success.

Gulraz Rehman (75) and Scott Mantovani (4-42) were outstanding as Peglers trounced Pledwick by 104 runs.

Dale Cross’s 75 was in vain for bottom side Sprotbrough in a one-wicket defeat against Old Sharlston A.

Division Six promotion contenders Thurnscoe A and Hatfield A had contrasting fortunes.

Liam Cooke (48), Don Whitehurst (42) and John Cresswell (5-47) gave Thurnscoe the edge against Stanley Falcons but Hatfield lost by three wickets at Rothwell A despite half centuries by Mick Gallagher and Keith Joyce.

Ian Wardle (53no) and Ryan Davis (4-20) led Division Seven promotion chasers Askern A to a seven-wicket win against Knottingley A.

Brodsworth Main A lost by eight wickets at Allerton Bywater A.

In Division Eight, Fenwick beat Peglers A and Sykehouse won at Thorpe Audlin A but Bentley A lost to Ryhill A.