Bawtry take step nearer promotion

Have your say

THORPE Marsh Bentley chalked up a 201-151 Doncaster Bowls Association Saturday League Section A win over Rossington.

Roger Elston (21-8) and Jack Richardson (21-6) both showed up well for Thorpe Marsh.

John Richardson (21-9) and Dave Patrickson senior (21-8) were the pick of the winners as second-placed Woodlands Park whitewashed leaders Roundwood 210-128.

Geoff Bratton’s 21-8 win proved crucial for Adwick in their 179-169 Section B derby success at Brodsworth, for whom Enoch Walker also won 21-8.

Bawtry took a step closer to promotion to the top division with good wins from Hazel Cuthbert and Len Squire (both 21-9) and Barry Binks and Margaret Smith (both 21-6) in their resounding 208-106 win over Eden Grove-Peglers.

Keith Haydon (21-7), Alan Bell (21-8) and Les Candler (21-7) gave bottom-of-the-table Brodsworth a valuable (183-150) win over Askern.

Chris Pattison (21-9), Mick Taylor (21-6) and Martin Scott (21-7) excelled as Denaby kept up the pressure on leaders Bawtry with a 202-126 victory over Adwick.

Nellie Hyner (21-4) was best winner for Roundwood B as they beat Armthorpe 203-134.

Derek Potts and Harry Reeve both won 21-8 for Maltby in their 200-153 Section C win over Yorkshire Main B.

Alan Bargh’s 21-5 win for Roundwood C was in vain as Eamon Costello (21-3) and Mick Coulson (21-7) won the match (177-161) for Parklands.

Alan Brown (21-5), Jean Hopson (21-8) and Bill Fletcher (21-4) starred for Adwick B in their 196-100 Section D win over Westfield Park B.

League leaders Bentley Colliery had good wins from Ken Strutt (21-8) and Matthew Griffiths (21-2) in their 196-144 victory over Hexthorpe B.

Les Candler (21-5) and Kevin Dixon (21-0) were the stars of Brodsworth B’s 176-146 win over Pilks Pensioners.

Derek Strawbridge won 21-2 for Harvesters but finished on the losing side as Sue Tetley (21-8) helped Parklands B claim a 181-161 victory.

Graham Kerr (21-7) gave Bawtry B a 176-175 derby win at Rossington B.