northern indoors

Hallamshire's 'Essa Ahamed drives for the line in his 1000m heat. He went on to win the final.
Hallamshire's 'Essa Ahamed drives for the line in his 1000m heat. He went on to win the final.
Have your say

Some top class sprinting was a feature of the Northern Open Indoor meeting at Sheffield’s EIS on Saturday.

Kristie Edwards (City of Sheffield) was a double winner at Under-20 level, taking the 60 metres in 7.79 and then going on to clock 18.20 in the 150 metres.

Whilst some of the different age groups ran together, Edwards, 16, did not clash directly with Sheffield based Louise Bloor (Trafford) who was the fastest senior in the 150 metres with an identical time to Edwards.

Billie Jo Harris (City of Sheffield) ran an impressive time of 7.99 in the U-15 60 metres, a time which beat most of the boys in that age group whilst another sprinter from the club, Eleanor Rawson, was another double sprint winner in the under 17 women’s section.

In the under 17 men’s age group Doncaster’s Joe McGrath was outstanding, winning the 60 metres in 7.03, just one hundredth of a second slower than the senior winner and a personal best for 16-year-old McGrath.

Essa Ahmed (Hallamshire) was a dominant winner of the under 17 1000 metres, his time of 2:35.35 beating all the U-20 runners and all but four of the seniors.

Not surprisingly, Luke Cutts (Dearne ALC) led the way in the field events. The international pole vaulter cleared 5.50, a significant mark at this stage of the year, but not what he was aiming for. Cutts was aiming for 5.70, the qualifying mark for the World Indoor Championships but it was not to be on this occasion. The Dearne ALC athletes, coached by Trevor Fox, dominated the pole vault. Apart from Cutts, under 20 Abby Roberts was outstanding setting a new personal best of 3.90.

Toni Buckingham (Barnsley AC) was in outstanding form in the shot winning the U-17 age group with 11.39 metres whilst Leo Rowley was equally impressive in the U-17 men’s with 12.99.

This hugely successful and well-supported meeting will be followed up with another open meeting next month. Winners included -

Men 150: B Shields (City of Sheffield) 16.85; Pole Vault: L Cutts (Dearne ALC) 5.50; Shot: L Ramsay (City of Sheffield) 13:05. Under-17 60: J McGrath (Doncaster) 7.03; 150: M Miller (Dearne ALC) 17.27; 1000: E Ahmed (Hallamshire) 2:35.35; Pole Vault: Y Hussain (Dearne ALC) 3.70; Shot: L Rowley (Rotherham) 12.99. Under-15 pole vault: J Lindley (Dearne ALC) 3.50; Long Jump: D Bell (City of Sheffield) 5.20. Under-13 600: K Walker (City of Sheffield) 1:43.42; 1000: W Irwin (City of Sheffield) 3:40.42; Long Jump: S Mobus (City of Sheffield) 4.37; Shot: N Ramsay (City of Sheffield) 4.64.

Women 60: K Drew (City of Sheffield) 8.19; 150: L Bloor (Trafford) 18.20. Under-20 60/150: K Edwards (City of Sheffield) 7.79/18.20; 1000: L Morgan (Chesterfield) 2:53.38; Pole Vault: A Roberts (Dearne ALC) 3.90. Under-17 60/150: E Rawson (City of Sheffield) 8.06/19.10; 2000: S Quince (Chesterfield) 7:24.56; Shot: T Buckingham (Barnsley AC) 11.39. Under-15 60: BJ Harris (City of Sheffield) 7.99; 600: I Bertram (City of Sheffield) 1:46.01; Pole Vault: E Tinsley (City of Sheffield) 2.90.

Under-13 60: E Heap (City of Sheffield) 8.76; Pole Vault: G Woodhead (Dearne ALC) 2.00.