Hallamshire dominate Flask relay

Action from the 21st Dam Flask relay
Action from the 21st Dam Flask relay
Have your say

Sheffield clubs scooped the medals in the 21st running of the Dam Flask relays.

A record 102 teams lined up for the event promoted by Sheffield Running Club and the men’s race was dominated by Hallamshire Harriers who were led off by Dave Archer in 18m 16s, the fastest time of the day .

He was supported by Tom Jenkins (18m 49s), Adam Dyson (18m 59s) and Ben Beattie (18m 58s) and they took a lead of 90 seconds over the fast improving Sheffield Running Club led off by Joe Sweetnam Powell, making his championship debut and getting the club off to a good start and with Phil Williams, Andy Buddery and Will Beauchamp (18m 36s) they were comfortable silver medallists a minute in front of Doncaster.

Hallamshire won the Over-40s veterans prize with Sheffield RC the Over-50s.

Three Sheffield clubs fought out the ladies race honours. Totley AC were second in leg one behind Hallamshire`s Nicola Squires who ran the second fastest ladies time of the day but had no other team members. The Totley team of Laura Allen 21m 48s,Hazel Tant 22m 52s and Kate Hastings 22m 13s moved into the lead on leg two and were comfortable gold medal winners. Steel City Striders won silver and Sheffield RC bronze .

The Vets gold was won by Sheffield RC ladies with Clare Thompson 23m 49s ,Deborah Platts Fowler 23m 28s and Michaela Sill 25m 44s.