Albert in their Element as Redtooth suffer first defeat

editorial image
Have your say

Then there were three! The surprise of the week, possibly the season, came in the top flight as Redtooth A slumped to a 4-6 loss at Albert Premier A.

The defending champions fielded a weakened side due to injury and availability and paid the price as the hosts inflicted a first defeat on the holders. Richard Element took a treble for Albert defeating Tim Dyson, Ernest Mpundu and Eddie Fogg. Alex Tilley beat Mpundu and Fogg and Chris Hoole completed the scoring for the hosts. Tim Dyson took a brace for the leaders which leaves them three points ahead of Stockbridge Rugby A, who have a game in hand.

There now remain three undefeated sides in the league – Cricketers in Division Four, Abbeydale G with 13/13 in Division Five and Albert Premier D who top Division Six.

Simon Chung led Abbeydale E to victory in the top of Division Three clash, registering a treble against fourth- placed Cable A. Chung teamed up with Barnsley’s Brian Isam to win the doubles. In reply Andy Burton notched a brace for the visitors.

Abbeydale J kept up the pressure on the Division Six promotion contenders by beating Crookes J 7-3. Mick Ward ended undefeated and Emma Hickman posted two wins and a share of the doubles with Ward.

Albert Premier D tightened their grip at the top of Division Six with an 8-2 win over Wadsley D, during which Ken Alvey and Adam Gittings hit hat-tricks. Amy Gittings had a 3-0 result for the hosts over the experienced Pat Cain.

Results - Div One: Abbeydale A 5 Scorpions A 5, Abbeydale B 6 Vulcan C 4, Albert Prem A 6 Vulcan Redtooth A 4, Crookes B 3 Stocksbridge B 7, Stocksbridge B 4 Crookes A 6, Vulcan A 8 Abbeydale B 2.

Div Two: Scorpions B 9 Hallam Gr A 1, Vulcan D 6 Shiregreen A 4, Vulcan E 5 Crookes D 5.

Div Three: Abbeydale D 8 Shiregreen B 2, Abbeydale E 6 Cable A 4, Crookes F 0 Abbeydale D 10, Hallam Gr B 7 Crookes F 3, Vulcan G 4 Vulcan F 6, Vulcan H 3 Hallam Gr B 7.

Div Four: Cable C 6 Cable B 4, Cricketers 8 Vulcan J 2, Crookes G 6 Wisewood A 4, High Green A 2 Cricketers 8, HSBC A 8 Crookes G 2.

Div Five: Abbeydale H 7 Wadsley Br C 3, Shiregreen C 4 Dronfield 6, Wisewood B 3 Abbeydale H 7.

Div Six: Abbeydale J 7 Crookes J 3, Albert Prem D 8 Wadsley Br D 2, Hallam Gr E 6 Wadsley Br E 4, HSBC B 8 Hallam Gr D 2, HSBC B 10 Tapton Hill B 0, Tapton Hill B 3 Hallam Gr E 7.