Youth councillors elected

Have your say

TWELVE teenagers have been sworn in as Sheffield’s latest youth councillors after an election involving more than 10,000 votes.

Results were announced at Sheffield Town Hall, where youth councillors who served last year were given awards for their achievements.

Those elected are: Joshua Wilson, Longley Park; Briony Aykroyd, Stocksbridge; Kieran Borrows, Yewlands; Diane Chaplin, Forge Valley; Mohammed Akmal, Handsworth Grange; Jenny Binley, Westfield; Rhianna Fox, Springs Academy; Carla Lamb, Park Academy; Elliot Whiteside, Tapton; Evie Herbert, King Edward’s; Haleem Ayoub, Newfield; Natalia Cobeanu, King Edward’s.

Emma Taylor, for Sheffield Futures, which organised the election, said: “The ballot had the biggest turnout ever.

“Young people of Sheffield cast their votes in secondary schools and local youth clubs right across the city.”

Youth councillors were sent messages of support from Sheffield Central MP Paul Blomfield and Sheffield Hallam MP Nick Clegg.

Mr Blomfield said: “I believe Sheffield Youth Council is an incredibly important initiative and hope to be able to meet with members in the near future.”

Deputy Prime Minister Mr Clegg said: “I congratulate the youth councillors who have taken up the challenge of shaping the future of our city.”