The story behind a Sheffield park opened as a gift to the city more than a century ago is being chronicled in a new guide book.
Residents Ros Tratt, Heather Rostron and Gordon Ferguson have created a booklet documenting the history of Bingham Park, which is close to Greystones and Hunters Bar and offers impressive views across the Porter Valley to Ranmoor.
The guide features a numbered ‘history trail’ that visitors can follow around the park, reading stories and looking at photographs as they go.
The 36-page publication is not for profit - any surplus will be donated to the Friends of the Porter Valley.
Celebrations to mark Bingham Park’s centenary took place in 2011, when much of the historical information was gathered.
“We thought we had so much valuable information, we ought to put it into a booklet,” said Heather. “It’s a great relief to have finally done it.”
The parkland was gifted to Sheffield by Sir John Bingham and his wife, Lady Maria, in 1911. Sir John, who lived in Ranmoor, was a philanthropist who made his fortune in the electroplating and silver industries.
The booklet also details the park’s role in World War Two, when land was given over for allotments, and its origins as the grounds of Greystones Hall.
“The park is very important to us, as it is to so many other people living around,” Heather added.
Ros, Heather and Gordon will be outside Endcliffe Park Café on Saturday from 8.45am to midday, running a stall to launch the booklet. Copies are on sale in the café priced £3.