Award-winning stations praised

David Young, deputy interim director general, SYPTE
David Young, deputy interim director general, SYPTE
Have your say

Three South Yorkshire rail stations have won national awards for work to make them safe environments for passengers and staff.

Rotherham Central, Barnsley and Meadowhall stations, all managed by South Yorkshire Passenger Transport Executive and Northern Rail, have been accredited by the Secure Station Scheme.

The initiative is run jointly by the Department for Transport and British Transport Police.

To achieve Secure Station status, Northern Rail and SYPTE demonstrated how they have provided enhanced employee training, risk assessments at the stations, as well as introducing numerous measures to cut crime.

It is the first time that Rotherham Central Station has been accredited by the scheme. Barnsley and Meadowhall stations have been re-accredited following initial Secure Station recognition in 2007.

SYPTE deputy interim director general, David Young, said: “We’re delighted. Train travel is already one of the safest ways to get around.

“By focusing on details such as design and better management we can make a real difference.”